• Come

    Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. (Matthew 11:28 - - - The Holy Bible) * * * * * * * God loves you!!!
  • Frank Lloyd Wright Buildings Designated as the 24th U.S. World Heritage Site

    Frank Lloyd Wright Buildings Designated as the 24th U.S. World Heritage Site | this site |

    (July 7, 2019) - - Today, the U.S. Department of State's Office of the Spokesperson publishe the following information:

    The United States is pleased to learn of the decision by the World Heritage Committee to inscribe a group of eight masterworks by American architect Frank Lloyd Wright as a single World Heritage Site, the United States’ 24th site on the World Heritage List. The World Heritage Committee inscribed the Frank Lloyd Wright buildings by consensus on July 7 at its 43rd session in Baku, Azerbaijan.

    The group, entitled “The 20th-Century Architecture of Frank Lloyd Wright,” is the first World Heritage listing for the United States in the field of modern architecture. The eight buildings include: Unity Temple in Oak Park, Illinois; Frederick C. Robie House in Chicago, Illinois; Taliesin in Spring Green, Wisconsin; Hollyhock House in Los Angeles, California; Fallingwater in Mill Run, Pennsylvania; Herbert and Katherine Jacobs House in Madison, Wisconsin; Taliesin West in Scottsdale, Arizona; and the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in New York City. Scholars and experts coordinated with the Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy to select them from among more than 400 works designed by Wright. Each of the eight buildings, which were designed and constructed over the span of 54 years (1905-1959), fills a range of functions, including residential, religious, work, and museum space. Together, the buildings showcase Wright’s influence on the course of architecture around the world.

    There are currently 1092 designated sites in 167 countries around the world. “The 20th-Century Architecture of Frank Lloyd Wright” joins 23 other natural and cultural World Heritage Sites in the United States that reflect outstanding universal value, including Mesa Verde, Yellowstone, Grand Canyon, Everglades, Great Smoky Mountains, the Statue of Liberty, Monticello and the University of Virginia, and the San Antonio Missions. Many of these are managed by the U.S. National Park Service.

    The United States was a prime architect of the World Heritage Convention, an international treaty created in 1972 to promote the conservation and preservation of important natural and cultural sites. Inside the United States, public and private sector cooperation on natural and cultural heritage preservation promotes appreciation of important U.S. sites, including many U.S. National Parks; protects endangered national treasures; and supports local economies through tourism. Further information on the World Heritage Program and the process for the selection of U.S. sites can be found at https://www.nps.gov/subjects/interna...ldheritage.htm .


  • Find Your Congressional District

  • Population

  • Recent Articles

  • Intermittent Stream


    If no sound, please press here

    If still no sound, please press here

    BroadWave Streaming Audio Server v1.10 © NCH Software NCH
  • About Browsers

  • ALL

     8  Let all the earth fear the Lord: let all the inhabitants of the world stand in awe of him. (Psalm 33:8 - - - in the Holy Bible)
  • Latest CMS Content